Humidity

We’ve been at our training site for a week, and I haven’t really been dry since I got here. I wake up damp – not drenched – then I dump a few buckets of water over my head. The water feels cold for a second, but it’s just an illusion, because the bathroom is sauna-esque and I don’t stop sweating while I mandi (“shower”). I towel off, and though I’m no longer dripping, I’ve really just returned to a state of damp. I put on my damp clothes and study Indonesian before breakfast. My books and papers also seem to have absorbed some of the humidity, which I believe to be the reason that it’s not quite 100%. Then it’s time for breakfast, which means time for sweating, because it’s physical activity – and spicy.

  We had a day off from language classes and training sessions today. Everyone did something with their host family. Two other trainees and I drove into town with my host mom and sisters and their cousins. Our first stop was a monumental arch. Sunday morning is “car-free” so the streets were full of people just walking around, playing sports or jogging. We got stopped once in a while and asked if we’d be in a picture. After our monumental stroll, we drove downtown and strolled a bit there. We went to a small eatery and had some chicken soup and orange juice for breakfast. Back to training tomorrow!

2 thoughts on “Humidity

  1. Is there a connection between cultures that straddle the equator and their love of spicy food ? Does heat and 100 % humidity dull the senses taste and smell ? Chili peppers rule !

    Like

Leave a Reply

